July 30, 2011

Here’s to you, New York

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , at 1:18 pm by a care in the world

Well hey there– it’s been awhile! Things have been crazy in this time of transition, and I’ve put the blog on hold for a bit until my life settles into a routine in a couple weeks. I’m in the midst of packing and finishing my Masters, and also trying to prepare for my new teaching job! I’m at a great school that I’m really excited about, and I’m teaching a little outside of my comfort zone, but it should be a great challenge.

A couple weeks ago I got to visit my family in Atlanta, meet my new nephew, and visit my husband in our new town. I got to see the parsonage and the church and hear him preach his first sermon. The congregation is small but SO friendly, and I think we’ll do well there. We celebrated our first anniversary that weekend as well, by unpacking our books! Well, at least half our books 🙂 We ate the top tier of our wedding cake (which was actually delicious!) and drank champagne and had an awesome, newlyweds-in-a-new-house-and-a-new-town time.

personal photo

personal photo

It’s a beautiful day in New York City and I’m just trying to cram in as much city life as I can before I leave. It will be hard to go from a population of 8 million to one of 5,000, but it will certainly be an adventure and a totally new experience. So here’s to you, New York– the home of my first year of marriage, the place where I earned the degree that put me on the road to a career I’m passionate about, the lifelong friends that made my husband and I feel welcome from day one, and all the incredible memories and experiences of living in the Big Apple. I will truly miss you.

photo from here

Leave a Reply

