September 10, 2011

The Privilege of Being a Southern Woman

Posted in Uncategorized at 11:52 pm by a care in the world

In the last 10 days or so, I’ve had the privilege of spending time with four generations of my family. Last weekend I was holding my baby nephew, and today I was looking through almost two centuries worth of family photos with my grandmother. My grandmother has always been careful to record and catalog every family event, using photographs, newspaper articles, birthday cards, postcards, letters, announcements, invitations, and so on. What has resulted is a large collections of photo albums rich with memories. I always love looking through them and reliving the moments I remember and pouring with fascination over the moments that happened decades before my time. I used my new iPhone to snap a quick picture of one of my favorite photographs in that house:

Personal photo

I’m not sure what event my grandparents are at in this photo, but I love how happy they seem to be 🙂 All this family history makes me think of an awesome article in Garden & Gun Magazine that my mother read to us last weekend and I read to my grandmother last night– it’s about southern women in all their glorious strengths and weaknesses. Enjoy the article here!

Photo from G&G website.

 

Leave a comment